Month: March 2008

  • Zero hour..

    Yes, that is what the next 3 weeks are for me.."Zero Hour."
    Today I made very little progress. I managed to narrow down what shoes to take:

    I'm still not sure about the clog type shoes. And I still need to get my "indoors" shoes. According the company manual, I will need one pair of indoor shoes for school, indoor "sneakers" for the gym, and outdoor "sneakers" for outdoors school activities. This is in addition to my "house" shoes.
    I have tried explaining this to my dad. Because I have long feet (size 10US, narrow), I doubt I will be able to walk into a shoe store in Japan and find what I need. I am not a small person either. By US standards I am fat, but I am average (we are fat nation..). In Japan, I know I will considered Jabba the Hut...I think "plus" size there is like...10 or 12 (US sizes). While I can hope to get down to that size again, I am not that size now...so I must take as much clothing as I can carry. This is not an easy move for a big girl .

    Ack, I just realized I updated my browser and that my smiley central toolbar is gone .
    Right, right...lost my train of thought. RIGHT.
    So I set out my "professional" and "dress" attire. My "casual" attire will not be separated and packed until the last week.
    My goal for tomorrow is to finish going through the bottom of the closet. and work on packing up the studio.

  • Wait for it....wait for it...

    and I've got nothing.
    Not really. I'm just very bored right now.
    My sister came down for the day. I found some nice blouses at Target and a cute cardigan...
    I order some more from Target online. I need to buy a larger sizes to accomodate my bosoms and the store doesn't always carry what I need.
    Wow, I am really cold.
    I may play some Castlevania. I haven't played in a while I think I stuck on a particular level on Portrait of Ruin.

    yeah, that is about it. I changed my desktop again...yikes I need to transfer my files over to the laptop ::making a list of things to do::

  • My Day of Rest...

    Yes, I had a most restful day.
    I didn't really do much.
    I do have this crazy craving for iced coffee.
    I went to Starbucks and got a grande iced coffee
    as well as getting schooled by the manager/owner on
    why I couldn't order a iced cappuccino. Sue me for wanting
    to try something different. She talked really fast and was kind of
    annoying. But I knew she was only trying to help...not be
    a condescending know it all..

    Did y'all see the POD wallpaper on the Xanga page.
    I totally forgot about POD..and Korn..oh how I love some
    Korn.

    No new pictures today, but I do have this:

    Kinetic Artificial Replicant Manufactured for Immediate Exploration
    Get Your Cyborg Name


    Yes, immediate exploration...lol

  • Spending Time with an Old Friend

    Where to begin....
    Tuesday morning started normal enough.
    I had my fully charged iPod ready for my morning drive.
    I had just changed the batteries in my iPod FM transmitter.
    I sat the iPod (with the nifty blue case) on the dash area just behind
    the steering wheel. That is the best place for the FM transmitter to work.

    I take off down the street and the chain from my nifty blue iPod case slips down into the steering column. My first thought was, "Hmmm..I need to get that out of there...when I get to the..." Before I could finish my thought the was a odd pop and then silence. The car was coasting with no power.  I pulled over to the curb. I try the ignition key a couple of times, pulled out the user manual, popped the hood and tried to look into the fuse box. I really didn't have time because I needed to be at work by 9:10 and it was 8:10. I hoofed it quick back the house (I had not left the neighborhood yet),
    got the Camaro keys, drove to my stalled Protege..got what I needed for work and off I went. After my morning classes, I called AAA and they towed the car back the house. I knew I had tripped a fuse and I thought it was the main fuse...but no. It was the ignition fuse. So, for the past couple of days I have been driving the Camaro I have been trying to sell. Oh how I missed that sound system. It can get very loud...as this video will show.
    The camera being used is quite crappy and you normally have to strain to hear any music that is playing in the car.
    Not on this one.
    Nope. I had the car lit.up.
    I really wonder why I am not deaf at this point. Seriously.
    Anywho, I really like the song Twister. I kept giggling through the whole song because I am stupid.
    I am stupid because I think damaging my hearing is fun.
    But it was. How often do I get to blast a song like that? Yeah...enjoy my totally pointless video ..

    p.s. I will post this on my Vox blog too...just because

     

  • The Final Countdown

    Today was my last day as an Art Educator.
    I will miss my students. Those kids were crazy and cute.
    Now starts the massive clear out and pack up...how exciting!!!

    I thought I had something else to post about....but I can't remember now.
    I am really confused. I know!!! I wanted to post a video, but
    Xanga is updating the server so I can't upload it right now...

    Some more daffodils bloomed this week:


  • If you could put together a dream team of 5 bands to perform for you and friends, who would they be?

    Hmm..this was tough one. I could only think of 3 currently.
    But, based on my tastes right now, my dream team concert would be:

    1.Orange Range,
    2.Def Leppard,
    3.Duran Duran,
    4.Queen,
    5.Incubus,

    Yeah, that would be a most excellent concert

    SmileyCentral.com
       

    I just answered this Featured Question, you can answer it too!

  • Just sharing the love...

    yes, sharing my love for Orange Range.

    How can you not love this tune:


    I truly love how this song sounds. I can only hope for more equally catchy songs from Orange Range this Spring and Summer.I am so excited.  Not much else is going on today. The family is watching "I Am Legend" but I opted out. I  am not a big movie watcher.My sister gets  upset if you don't want to participate in movie watching time. Most of the time it is a movie I have no interest in. It would seem like I am not allowed to not be interested in things she is but she can be totally disinterested in anything I like. Oh well, such is family life.

    I think I will lay down for a bit...

  • Tastee Kakes for Everyone

    Sometimes it is the small things in life that just nag, nag, nag...
    I figured out what I had been craving: Ice Cream.
    I went by the Baskin Robbins and got a scoop of Pistachio Almond and a scoop of Chocolate Maui Mania flavor.
    I feel better now.
    I guess I have been craving for some since that day my sister and I were discussing what exactly Pistachio ice cream tasted like.
    I don't have any big plans for Easter. Just a small family dinner. I am preparing the risotto.

    I started throwing stuff out today.
    I hope to be done with all that is trash by the end of the week.
    The week after I start separating things I want to be shipped to me and start packing.

    I'll play on my DS for a little bit and just chill out for the rest of the night...

    ***********************
    And now for a little group actionHeart/arrow
    All the guys look good, but  I really love how Yamato looks in this image.

  • Thou Shalt Not Overindulge!

    Thou shalt not overindulge!
    But, I have...for the past couple of days.
    It started with the Cheetos bender.
    I really needed some Cheetos. I only eat  few a day, but the damage is done.
    That and fruit flavored soda that is really just pure sugar syrup.
    Oh, oh..I found this at the 7-11.
    It isn't bad. But it isn't good either.
    I can only take a sip at a time.
    It is freaky but it is good...but it is not.

    My thought process goes like this:
    Wow, this is good. Kinda creamy and fizzy.
    Not as good as a real Rootbeer float.
    Hmmm. This isn't right. This is unnatural.
    I'm going to stop drinking now. I may hurl.

    Then there was the Philly Cheesesteak from Jerry's (yesterday)...and the Cheeseburger from Wendy's (today).
    And I am knocking back one Barcardi Silver Mojito a night.
    Tomorrow, I will do better. I don't get it because I haven't had much of an appetite.
    I get this feeling my body is craving something and nothing is satisfying it.
    I don't want cheese or salt or sugar or starch or meat...I don't know what it is I want.
    This could be stress related. I bet it is stress related. I have internalized all my stress about moving overseas.
    It has killed my appetite while leaving me wanting for something that doesn't exist.

    Anywho, I took some photos of  the Pear tree out front:

    I just finished my Peeps Nation photo series (click on the photo to view all the photos):

  • What Would You Do For a Klondike Bar??

    Nothing.
    I would do nothing.
    Klondike Bars are not
    that good...
    But they are better than that nasty ass Chocolate
    Covered Cherry Diet Dr.
    Pepper...

    Ho-ho-hooo...
    Looky
    what finally came:

    Good
    stuff...
    Kimi Station is a good ballad..
    (仮)ラララ makes me feel like in wacky land...but I
    enjoy it
    powder beats is awesome...

    Do you
    know what I have on my desktop this week...ah come on, I think you know
    who:

    (many thanks to those at the Thai
    forum)

    Next week is my last week.
    Now, time is truly
    getting short.
    I don't know how my family is handling
    this.
    They are excited and happy for me...but me being gone is
    going to be difficult.
    I just want them to be
    o'k.
    This is something I have to do....but I don't like
    hurting them.
    I keep thinking that I am a bad daughter and
    sister for taking this job and moving so far away.
    I remember
    being in high school and my dad made me promise to never leave...and I
    never did, but I was never happy...

    i don't want
    them to hate me
    Tears